KANA wins two EB Craney Excellence in Broadcasting awards

Blake-Pat-David awards

AWARE Inc. and KANA representatives Pat Noonan, left, David Caldwell, Russ Peterson and Blake Hempstead were present during the 2016 Montana Broadcasters Association convention in Big Sky where KANA won two EB Craney Excellence in Broadcasting awards along with a runner-up finish.

BIG SKY — On Saturday evening, June 25, Anaconda’s KANA 580 AM won two EB Craney awards along with one runner-up finish during the annual Montana Broadcasters Association Convention. 
A member of the AWARE Business Network, KANA won awards for Public Service Campaign and Station Promotion and took second in the Non-Commercial Radio Program category. 
The EB Craney Awards are named in memory of Montana broadcast pioneer Ed Craney, recognizing excellence in local news, production, promotion and public service from radio and television stations located in the Big Sky state.
Throughout all of the radio programs submitted for awards, only the top two in each of 12 Blake-Pat awardsseparate categories are recognized.
KANA General Manager Blake Hempstead and AWARE Media Director Pat Noonan along with AWARE client and production assistant David Caldwell and Russ Peterson, AWARE Job Coach, represented the station at the awards ceremony.
“In the last two years we’ve submitted entries into categories for EB Awards, KANA has now won twice and been runner-up twice,” Hempstead said. “It says a lot when the Montana Broadcasters and the Greater Montana Foundation are recognizing our work considering we have never strayed from our goals of providing quality community programming for the listeners in Anaconda.”
“The KANA team has been working hard over the years to run a community focused radio station while also providing non traditional job opportunities for folks with a developmental disability,” said Noonan.  “To see that hard work recognized by our peers has been a tremendous honor for everyone involved.”
For the Public Service Campaign winning entry, KANAs Anaconda Community PSA Campaign including cuts from School District 10 preschool enrollment and the Open Theatre Project were recognized. (Below are two of the clips contained in the entry)

In the Station Promotion category, KANAs 60-second mix of popular music customarily played during regular programming and sound bites from Angela McLean’s 2015 AHS commencement address and Hempstead’s Copperhead Sports play-by-play calls was in the entry. (Below is the winning entry)

In the Non-Commercial Radio Program category, KANAs live broadcast of Anaconda High School’s 2015 graduation commencement by Hempstead and Noonan was recognized.